Diet Coke break and awareness raising.

Standard

I thought it might be time for an interval. I assume it can be quite tiring reading about someone’s nervous breakdown so let’s have a rest. I am having a Diet Coke, which is always my beverage du jour.

I will lighten the mood by telling you about a flash of inspiration I had yesterday. It occured to me that there is not enough recognition of people who struggle with long-term mental or physical health problems. I have four lifelong issues. Depression, anxiety, cyclical neutropenia and M.E. I am a very lucky girl. If you have never heard of cyclical neutropenia, don’t worry. Stick with this blog and you soon will!

I’m not saying I don’t receive support because I do. I just think as a society there should be more ways to acknowledge and recognise people who are surviving the feat of endurance known as long-term health problems.

International awareness days/weeks are a great start. However they only happen once a year and usually focus on more common illnesses. For instance, I was glad to share information about Depression and M.E awareness weeks recently, but there is no neutropenia awareness day because the illness is so rare and uncommon. The cyclic neutropenia which I suffer from affects only 2 in a million people. I am part of an online support group and suggested we try and get an awareness day off the ground, but was told by a fellow member we were already lumped under ‘rare illness awareness day’. I’m currently trying to see if there is any way we can get our own day started up.

Spock from Star Trek  said, “The needs of the many outweigh the needs of the few”. I can see that in the case of more common life threatening illnesses such as cancer and HIV, the needs of the many certainly require attention. But why can’t we recognise the needs of the few AS WELL? Surely there are enough resources and interest around to generate some extra publicity for the unfortunate people suffering in their rarity and quietly managing in silence?

My flash of inspiration involves devising a range of greetings cards to support, honour and empathise with people suffering long-term health problems. There is definitely a gap in the market for this. I know there are the basic ‘Sympathy’ and ‘Thinking of You’ style cards but why is there not a specific range which sums up the dreadful scenarios some people go through in life? Death is more recognised in the card industry than long-term health struggles. It is possible to buy every type of card to support different types of bereavement, including details of family member/step-family member or friend on the front with a helpful verse inside, should you not know what to write yourself. ( Actually, I did note one gap in the market here for death of a pet – which I believe can be just as difficult as losing a person.)

I propose something like the following for starters:

“With deepest sympathy on your diagnosis of a debilitating lifelong disorder”

“My thoughts are with you as you continue your struggle with depression”

“Wishing you love and support with the many health difficulties you face”

I know I would be thrilled to receive a card like this. It isn’t easy to communicate to people that you recognise their long-term struggles, so until the little-known or stigmatised conditions get more awareness days/weeks, why not send a card?

I may write to Hallmark with my idea. Or I might just start making them myself.

I'd love to hear what you think!

